In the Commonwealth of Massachusetts all responsibility falls to the taxpayer to provide the correct mailing address to the Tax Collector’s office. Failure to receive a bill does not stay the interest or penalty.
Know when taxes are due.
We are now on a quarterly billing cycle.
The due dates are normally as follows:
First quarter due August 1
Second quarter due November 1
Third quarter due February 1
quarter due May 1
The third quarter bill will be the actual bill and you have 30 days from the date of issue to apply for an abatement. You have 90 days from the date of issue of the third quarter bill to apply for the Residential Exemption. For more information on abatements and exemptions please contact the Assessor's Office - 508-228-7200.
If you are a new property owner, be aware that the real estate tax bill will be issued in care of you.
The previous owner’s name remains on the real estate tax bill for at least one year as required by MGL Chapter 59, Section 11.
Submit any changes of address in writing or via email.
Assessor’s office or the Tax Collector’s office in the Town Building, 37 Washington Street, Nantucket, MA 02554.
To change your mailing address on a Motor Vehicle Excise Tax bill you must contact the Registry directly.