Conservation Commission

About the Commission

The Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act (the Act) requires that no person shall remove, dredge, or alter any bank, freshwater or coastal wetlands, beach, dunes, flat, marsh, meadow or swamp bordering on any resource area as defined in the Act without filing written notice of the intention to perform such work with the Conservation Commission of the Town in which the land is located and receiving a permit from the Commission to perform the work. This mandated authority was reinforced by the 1963 Annual Town Meeting which authorized the establishment of a Conservation Commission for the town. Since that time the Town of Nantucket has developed a Wetlands Bylaw (Chapter 136) to provide further local control.

The Conservation Commission meets every other Wednesday at 5:00 pm at the PSF Training Room, 4 Fairgrounds Road, Nantucket, MA.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All Agendas and Minutes

2020 Meeting Schedule


Ashley Erisman, Chair
Term Expires: 2023

Ian Golding, Vice Chair
Term Expires: 2021

Mark Beale
Term Expires: 2023

Seth Engelbourg
Term Expires: 2022

David LaFleur
Term Expires: 2022

Maureen Phillips
Term Expires: 2022

Joseph Topham
Term Expires: 2021

Useful Information

Conservation Commission Wetland Regulations (PDF)

This page was last updated on July 1, 2020.